Kansas Nursing Certification and Licensing
Nursing Licensing in Kansas
Have you been contemplating a new career? Something that allows you to give of yourself and has a positive impact on the people you serve? If so, then nursing may be right for you. Nurses spend their days,in Kansas, taking care of patients, offering support, and providing treatment for the wounded. You can find nurses in every place imaginable --from the human resources department of a local business to a small school down the street. Nursing is an integral part of our healthcare system and the potential to grow in this sector is larger than any other.
Kansas Nursing Schools
To become a nurse, in Kansas, you will need to first find a program that is approved by the state's board of nursing. There are several in the larger cities and you can often find lists of approved programs on the internet. A program to become a licensed practical nurse is about one year in length and to become a registered nurse you may choose an associate's (2 year) or bachelor's (4 year) course. The courses have two portions, much like CNA programs. The portions are classroom and clinical training. The clinicals are also called manual skills, these are important for students as they give a hands on aspect in learning. Some or all of the clinicals may be held at healthcare facilities, while other portions may make use of hired actors.
Kansas Licensing Requirements
Once the training has been completed, you will fill out an application for testing. A fee is usually required for the application and will be mailed to the board of nursing along with your application. Once this is received by the board, you will receive a determination--approval or denial--for testing. This will arrive in the mail. Testing for your license is a standard test given to all potential nurses in the United States, it is called the National Council on Licensure Exam or NCLEX. The NCLEX is given by Pearson Vue in most states. You will need valid photo identification and also will need to bring your payment for testing. Your license will be issued after you have completed the test with a passing grade.
Kansas Licensing Renewal
All nurses are required to renew their license every twenty four months in order to keep their license valid. If a license lapses, you may need to retake the NCLEX. You will need to contact the Kansas State Board of Nursing if you have exceeded twenty four months to find out if you can still renew without penalty.